By reading this blog, I hope you go away with some great ideas for dinner time, for saving money, and for being frugal. My motto has been, "why buy it when you can make it?" and it has paid off. I make my own soups, my own bread and even my own body scrub. Just because I feel home made is way better than store bought. But, if you are going to buy from the store, spend as little as possible. It is what has let me work in a job I LOVE (with a $10/hr pay cut) its also what allows us to spend our money on fun things. Like trips and toys. :)

Monday, August 29, 2011

Wait, you MADE this syrup?

6 jars of sweet blueberry syrup
So, I found this great blueberry patch near my house. AND its free to go pick some berries. I LOVE berries, and I LOVE free, so I went. it was great. I came home with a bowl full of berries. I decided, I wanted to try to make some berry syrups. Like the ones you see when you go to I-Hop. I know they are FULL of sugars and preservatives, so, I found a great recipe online. It was very easy (except I didn't follow the directions very close) and this was my first attempt at canning. I did great and didn't break a single jar. The total for me to make these 6 jars was about $20, but I had to buy a canning kit $9 at walmart (after my $2 off coupon) and I bought the jars because I didn't have any ($6 at walmart) I also bought the fancy tongs to pull the hot jars out of the water ($4 at walmart). Next year I will reuse my jars and just have to buy more flat lids. I found the recipe here at simple bites. (due to copywrite and I want to give the author her credit, I will redirect you to her page)
I assume it would work for any berry, but I am not sure. I am collecting blackberries to try to make some from that as well...

Sunday, August 28, 2011

So.. 22 Cans of Beans??


Yes. I started collecting these coupons for .75 cents off 3 cans of s&w beans. At winco, with the coupon, it made them .25cents a can. I could NOT pass this up. Beans are a great source of fiber, AND they fill you up (if you are broke, but hungry, they are good to have as an essential)
So, My friend gave me this great recipe for 5 can chili. You really just dump cans of stuff into a crockpot or pot, and cook it up. (I will share with you later)

Well, With the beans being as cheap as they were, I decided, wow, I am going to get a few "batches" of the chili stocked up. And then, coupons.com would re-release the coupon (reset it for more printing) I always print 4 coupons per offer. (2 from my desktop and 2 from out laptop) so I had coupons for more beans. and they reset it. More beans. It became an obsession for me. MUST GET .25 CENT BEANS.. So I just kept adding to it. Well, now I am out of coupons, BUT I have enough beans to make 5 batches of chili. Which, is a good thing, because when this weather turns cold and nasty, My hubby has to work outside in the cold rain. He usually comes home soaked, and wants something warm. How about chili?? This is also a dish that is a "set and forget" so when I have to work until 8:30 pm, I can dump it all into the crockpot, and it will be ready when we get home. No cooking required after work. Just dish up a big bowl, and enjoy.

So, Here is the recipe that she gave me. It sounds gross, I thought that, but I figured I would give it a try. It is VERY good. almost like Wendy's Chili.

2 cans Chili beans
1 can cream of mushroom (its the secret ingredient!)
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 can rinsed black beans
Dash of Chili Powder (I do a few shakes from the bottle)
1 onion chopped (I course chop mine, we like the chunks)
I lb Hamburger (I use turkey burger and it taste great)
2-3 garlic cloves- chopped

Brown Hamburger. Add onion, garlic, and some salt and pepper
add all ingredients to the crockpot.
simmer for 3-4 hours.

DONE!


Saturday, August 27, 2011

I am BACK after computer problems

Hey followers. I know I got you all excited about learning to coupon and use the stuff. But then, disaster struck. I started having some computer and internet problems. I would type out a wonderful post, and poof, get kicked offline. So, I quit. Yes, I got frustrated and quit. But, after going through a new provider, I am back! so, here is the great deal I did this week.

I paid $6.40 for all of that

How?!? is what everyone is asking. Well here is what it worked out to:
First, I hit up alberstons. With them, its hit and miss. Today I had a really nice cashier, so it made things easy.

I got the kens at albertsons. I HAD a $1/1 coupon from two weeks ago. This week they were on store coupon for .99 a bottle. The cashier took the whole dollar off (never had luck with this before) so, I got them for free Plus a 4cent credit.

I also had a coupon for .79lb chicken, but I really didnt want to spend a lot, and the cheapest chicken I could find was about $3. As I was browsing, I saw the meat. Its the manager special meat, that I call, use it/freeze it, or lose it meat. Its meat that is expiring, but if you cook it or freeze it that evening you will be fine. I get this meat a LOT, and have NEVER gotten sick. So, it was normally $5.23 for the pack, but there was a $2 off coupon on the pack. for $3 I got thin sliced pork-chops, froze half the pack and had some last night for dinner. It was delicious!

Total spent $3.2o Total saved $$20.80

On to the next store (I will tell ya what I am going to do with it all a bit later)

Next, I hit up Safeway. I have all kinds of luck there, just because we live next door, so we go there a lot for food, beer and Chinese food. (its delicious)
I had loaded some coupons onto my Safeway card (I do this every Monday) and I had seen on a blog that there had been a coupon for Klondike bars and Dryers. So, I checked, and sure enough there was those on my card. The Bars were .50 CENTS because I had a $2 off coupon on my card. which brings me to a great point. ALWAYS load EVERYTHING to you card. you never know what you can get for pennies or free. I would never normally buy these, but they were .50 cents.
okay, back to shopping. With another e-coupon the dryers was 1.49. I have been craving vanilla ice cream ever since I made homemade blueberry syrup a couple weeks ago. So I splurged on that.
The salad bags were free, thanks to a $1/1 coupon I had for doing a survey at vocalpoint. at Safeway it was on sale .99 a bag. SCORE
I also got the chef boyardee for .25 because if you pledge to shop at Safeway on facebook, they will give you a coupon for .25 chef boyardee. Facebook is a great place for coupons and free offers.
Total Spent at Safeway $3.20 Total saved $17.30

So, back to the salad dressing. I am not ashamed to say, currently I have 12 bottle of dressing in my pantry. WHY?!?! is the other question I hear. A LOT. Well, When salad dressing or peanut butter (10 jars), or pasta (7 boxes) or beans (22 cans) go on sale, I get what I can get, JUST my limit, which is usually 4. I stockpile it. I do not clear out the store, but if I can get a good bunch of goods, I will.
Here is a few things I plan on doing with the stuff
Salad dressing - Joe, My hubby, takes a salad every day for lunch. He gets a small container of dressing. Times that by 5. Every two weeks its a bottle of dressing. We will go through that dressing in about 6 months. I also use the Italian dressing for pasta salad, which brings us to
Pasta-- I LOVE stockpiling this because it can last on the shelf for at LEAST 6 months. I make pasta salad for lunches/dinners. When we both work late, I can make a fast dinner of garlic Alfredo and pasta, or spaghetti.
Peanut Butter-- Ah love having PB on hand. I make very good Peanut butter cookies. I would rather make them then buy store bought cookies. Also, when you are broke, or just down to the bare cupboards, you can always make a pb and jelly sandwich. I also eat peanut butter on apples, or on toast in the morning.

Tune in tomorrow to see what I use all the beans for. Hint, its very yummy and easy for a cold rainy day.